The Byrd Cage

Voices of Belmont Alumni: Reflections on The Battle of the Boulevard

In Game Posts on January 6, 2012 at 5:48 pm


Brian Dunn, Belmont 08′, Finance, Belmont 09′, MACC

” So now that this could be our last year with our heated rival Lipscomb, one word describes how I feel for them. Hatred.  My feeling of malcontent probably has something to do with the overall arrogance (which is not deserved) Lipscomb portrays. From the fans to Adnan Hodzic and Josh Slater, it never ceases to amaze me on how a win against Belmont warrants a rushing of the court.  

I think at the end of the day, pride is on the line for both schools.  For Lipscomb, this game determines success or failure and in their eyes some type of “validation” to their institution’s stature against Belmont. For Belmont, it’s putting that younger jealous brother in its place for wearing purple and staying out past their curfew once and for all.

BELMONT TIL I DIE. “

___________________________________________________

Fatima Karwandyar, Belmont 09′, Public Relations

 “I remember attending the game at Lipscomb and sitting next to Vince Gill and he gave me a high five…”

___________________________________________________

Kyle Williams, Belmont 08′, Music Business

Some awesome signs Ben, Steve, and I made at an away Battle of the Blvd two years ago:

“Bisons is a malapropism”

“Lipscomb’ sounds disgusting . . .”

“The parking here is terrible”

“At least Baptists can dance: 2006, 2007, 2008″

and finally . . .

“Tim Tebow can’t read” (so ahead of it’s time, I know)

__________________________________________________

Caroline Adams, 10′, Religion and the Arts

“We were such dorks freshman year, and I definitely wasn’t the crazy, college type- this story will show you.  I remember the first Battle of the Boulevard I attended.  We won, and my friends and I got so excited about the win.  I remember vividly, we were driving down West End to get something to eat afterwards and saw a Lipscomb car with students getting out.  We rolled down our windows and yelled at the top of our lungs, “AREN’T YOU PAST YOUR CURFEW?!”  It was pretty crazy of us to do.  I swear we talked about that for 6 months afterwards.”

_________________________________________________

Ben Smith, Belmont 08′, History

“I dressed up as a bear one time at the Battle. Full body suit, head to toe. A little girl came up and hugged me. Creepy though it may seem, it was clear from this symbolic act that the Belmont Bruins had the endorsement of that which is pure and beautiful. By contrast, no one wants to hug a bison. Who tucks in their little child at night with a stuffed bison? A bad parent, that’s who.”

___________________________________________________

Andrew Baker, Belmont 07′, Music Business

“There are many memories about the Battle of the Boulevard. I went to every game between 2003 and 2007, but the one I remember most is the one Battle during that period that didn’t occur in Nashville. The 2006 A-Sun Championship win when Justin Hare carried Belmont over the line in OT was one of the greatest moments in Belmont history. I remember is so specifically because it was Spring Break and I was probably the only person still in Maddox hall. I didn’t have the money to go to the game, but being able to run through the halls screaming about the victory with no one around was something that I will never forget. It was a pretty surreal.”

____________________________________________________

Klay Kelley, Belmont 09′, Music Business, Belmont 10′, MBA

“I remember freshman year being in Student Government and working with the SGA President on the creation of the sign.  It was a great experience being able to work with such a great rivalry and have a hand in that part of that tradition.”

____________________________________________________

Steven Lefebvre, Belmont 08′, Music Business

“The majority of Belmont students hate sports and this hatred is only matched by their hate for all things Lipscomb.  They are the anti-Belmont, when we build a nursing program, they make a school of pharmacy.  When we get the presidential debates, they get Tim Tebow.  They are the annoying little brother who can’t sit still and the Belmont nation cheers for their demise.”

____________________________________________________

Molly Smith, Belmont 08′, Education

“I remember when we first introduced the Battle of the Boulevard sign, we ended up winning that night.  It didn’t even have a stand yet, and the SGA President, Daniel Shumate was running around with it jumping up and down like crazy!  I’ll never forget that.”

____________________________________________________

Jonathan Pollack, Belmont 09′, Business

“Why does Battle of the Blvd mean so much to me?  Why do I hate “Lip-scum” so much?  It’s because this game is a home-grown rivalry.  Most rivalry’s in sports are based on past playoff games.  This one is not.  Both schools sit on the same street: Belmont Blvd.  Keep in mind that the street is named after the dominant college.  This game is for pride.  It’s for bragging rights.  You have to defend your street.  It’s not “Lipscomb” Blvd, it’s Belmont Blvd.  It feels like I’m in “West Side Story” or something.  Maybe one day we’ll meet half way and start snapping.  You have to do whatever it takes to defend your honor.  That means showing up to every Battle of the Blvd game.  Belmont games are never sold out,  so when this one comes along, get ready.  The noise, the intensity, the energy.  There’s something special about it.  Hope to see you there.  Look for me, I may be snapping along…”

_____________________________________________________

Ryan Hurd, Belmont 09′, Economics

2011:  Lipscomb carpooled over to the Curb Event Center and lost by a heaping 36 points to a Belmont team that nearly swept the conference. The win tied for the worst Lipscomb loss in the NCAA era. It was more than fantastic. It was certainly abnormal. I was even a little embarrassed for Slater and Hodzic until I shook off my beatdown high and realized that I wasn’t. And Belmont would have run the conference table but for Allen Arena on January 25. Lipscomb rallied in the second half on the backs of Slater and Hodzic, who no one in the conference ever had an answer for, and knocked off Belmont with a 9 point win (padded by free throws in the last minute, it was closer than 9). Sometimes the other guy has to win in order for your rivalry to be worth a damn. 

We’re just better. That’s all. And for what it’s worth, I”ll be right for at least 4 more years until they catch up. But by the looks of it now, my guess it that I’ll be right for many years to come. But despite their shortcoming, the school that shares the street truly is a great rival. 
Start the bus.”
______________________________________________________
Jeff Simpson, Belmont 09′, Political Science
“I’ll always remember going to my first Battle of the Boulevard.  I hate everything about Lipscomb. I hesitate to admit that at first the hatred stemmed from jealousy. How did they have such a big and organized student section? It looked a lot more fun over there. Did I choose the wrong school? Absolutely not. As the game went on, I began to make a few observations. First and foremost, they’re all idiots. I’m all for giving the refs grief and being partial in my opinion of what is a foul and what is not. However, there is a limit to this partiality that borders idiocy. They all crossed that line. Every whistle.
Second, the “leaders” of this student section clearly thought they were more important than the actual players. One kid in particular couldn’t get enough of himself, and to make things worse he was fat, and a ginger. I have nothing against fat gingers. Except that they’re fat. And gingers. Somehow, he got into a non-verbal exchange of words with our student section. It was obvious that this moment in time, receiving attention from his section and ours, was going to be the best moment of his life. He clearly had no real friends, absolutely no athletic talent, and likely no particular academic strengths. I bet he chose Lipscomb so he wouldn’t feel so bad about sitting alone in his dorm room at night and weekends, since everyone else was forced to follow the curfew as well. Somehow this moron ended up on the front row of their student sections all four years I was there. I feel bad for his parents. There are at least a dozen other examples of why I hate Lipscomb, but those were the first.

Another memory, in the midst of a Belmont comeback run during the 4th quarter, the Belmont fans became exceptionally rowdy. For reasons I’ll never fully understand, a Lipscomb fan and father of two young children found it necessary to turn around and yell some choice words at our student section. Why an adult, in front of his young children, would ever turn away from an ongoing game to engage in discourse with a group of hostile students is beyond me. I remember making eye contact with him and yelling “Your kids are ugly!” In my defense, it is unlikely that he or the kids heard me. Also, it was a true statement, and judging by their father the kids didn’t have much of a change after puberty either. They’re probably some of the meanest words I’ve ever uttered, but I’ve never regretted them.”

 
  1. Great responses, great memories, great rivalry.

    ’06 ASun Championship has to be the best sporting event I have ever seen in person (better than seeing Florida beat up on Oklahoma in the 2008 BCS NC) and one of my fondest memories from my college experience.

Leave a Reply

